Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
The Storm Runner
Cover of The Storm Runner
The Storm Runner
Storm Runner Series, Book 1
Borrow Borrow Borrow
A contemporary adventure based on Maya mythology from Rick Riordan Presents and New York Times bestselling author J. C. Cervantes! Zane has always enjoyed exploring the dormant volcano near his home in...
A contemporary adventure based on Maya mythology from Rick Riordan Presents and New York Times bestselling author J. C. Cervantes! Zane has always enjoyed exploring the dormant volcano near his home in...
Available Formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    2
  • Library copies:
    2

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • A contemporary adventure based on Maya mythology from Rick Riordan Presents and New York Times bestselling author J. C. Cervantes! Zane has always enjoyed exploring the dormant volcano near his home in New Mexico, even though hiking it is challenging. He'd much rather hang out there with his dog, Rosie, than go to middle school, where kids call him Sir Limps a Lot, McGimpster, or Uno—for his one good leg. What Zane doesn't know is that the volcano is a gateway to another world and he is at the center of a powerful prophecy. A new girl at school, Brooks, informs him that he's destined to release an evil god from the ancient Maya relic he is imprisoned in—unless she can find and remove it first. Together they return to the volcano, where all kinds of crazy happens. Brooks turns into a hawk, a demon attacks them in a cave, and Rosie gives her all while trying to protect Zane. When Zane decides to save his dog no matter the cost, he is thrust into an adventure full of surprising discoveries, dangerous secrets, and an all-out war between the gods, one of whom happens to be his father. To survive, Zane will have to become the Storm Runner. But how can he run when he can't even walk well without a cane?

Reviews-

  • School Library Journal

    Starred review from August 1, 2018

    Gr 4-8-Zane Obispo has a pretty sweet life: a mom who loves him; his fun, wrestling-loving Uncle Hondo; eccentric, caring neighbors; a loyal dog; and his very own backyard volcano. The downside is he'll be starting a new school, where he knows kids will make fun of his limp and his cane. When Zane and his dog Rosie discover a secret entrance to the volcano, Zane has no idea they've just put an ancient prophecy into motion, one that features him as a main player. Soon he meets a shape-shifter named Brooks who tells Zane that not only is Zane supernatural, but it is foretold that he plays a role in releasing Ah-Puch-the Mayan god of death, disaster, and darkness-from his prison in the volcano. Zane learns that there is more truth to the myths in his Mayan book than he ever imagined and that his father-whom he has never know-is also a major part of the prophecy. Zane sets off a chain of events that bring him closer to the truth about his ancestry and show him a world he thought only existed in books. Fantastic and villainous creatures from Mayan folklore combine with clever, realistic, and heartwarming characters. VERDICT A page-turning and well-written trip into the world of Mayan mythology, perfect for fans of David Bowles's Garza "Twins" and Rick Riordan's "Percy Jackson" series.-Selenia Paz, Harris County Public Library, Houston, TX

    Copyright 2018 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Kirkus

    July 15, 2018
    A chosen-one adventure through the Southwest.Zane's backyard in New Mexico is unique--it has its own volcano. He lives with his mom and their dog, Rosie, and his biggest problem is having to start a new school...until he makes a huge mistake and sets loose ancient Maya god Ah-Puch, also known as the Stinking One. A mysterious girl named Brooks appears at Zane's school and then at home, and she reveals to Zane that she is a nawal, or shape-shifter, and she's there to help him fulfill his destiny in a great prophecy. And so begins a race against time as Zane, Brooks, and a growing band of sidekicks race across the Southwest to find Ah-Puch, learn who Zane's estranged father is, and save the world. As readers accustomed to Rick Riordan's books will expect, additional Maya gods and magical creatures are revealed along the way. Unevenly paced and complicated by gods with two or three monikers, this second in Riordan's eponymous imprint may frustrate close readers, but the high stakes will grab kids who just want to turn pages as quickly as possible. Zane is Mexican-American; his limb disability turns out to have a magical origin (not unlike Percy Jackson's dyslexia), which may well feel like a cheat for readers with disabilities themselves. Nevertheless, Zane's incredibly appealing kid voice and wry internal interjections make him easy to root for.Busy--but exciting action and a likable character make up for it. (Fantasy. 10-14)

    COPYRIGHT(2018) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • DOGO Books abi_k_12 - This book was about Zane, the weird kid at school with a bum leg. One day, a girl named Brooks appears. She tells him that he is special to a Mayan prophecy. They have many adventures together, meet gods, giants, battle demons, and so much more! I connected to this book because I related to Zane when he found out that he was apart of something much bigger than him. I give this book 4 stars because I liked the detailing, and the plot, and it was a good and interesting read.
  • Booklist

    Starred review from August 1, 2018
    Grades 4-7 *Starred Review* Fans of Rick Riordan's Percy Jackson series, or stories based on mythology in general, will be raving over Cervantes' series starter. Zane Obispo is content exploring the volcano in his backyard with his dog, Rosie, and doing what he can to please his mother, who works hard for little. He's got one foot smaller than the other, and one leg shorter than the other, which complicates things a bit. But then he meets Brooks, a girl who appears after a mysterious plane crash, and she warns him, first, that he's in danger, and, second, that he's destined to release the lord of death, darkness, and despair from imprisonment, and his whole world goes topsy-turvy. Zane is an instantly relatable character: he's frustrated by his circumstances and wants to do the right thing, though he often gets into trouble for fighting bullies or wandering off alone. Cervantes wastes no time getting right into the action, and her conversational tone and suspenseful pacing will keep the pages turning as the tension escalates and the characters face deepening stakes. Plentiful references to Maya mythology and culture are bound to send readers searching for more background info, even with the glossary in the back matter. Don't miss this rip-roaring adventure. (Reprinted with permission of Booklist, copyright 2018, American Library Association.)

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    Disney Book Group
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 99 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
The Storm Runner
The Storm Runner
Storm Runner Series, Book 1
J.C. Cervantes
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
The Storm Runner
The Storm Runner
Storm Runner Series, Book 1
J.C. Cervantes
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by SW BOCES School Library System, and built with đź’• by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close