Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
Stay
Cover of Stay
Stay
Borrow Borrow Borrow
Fans of Pax and A Dog's Way Home will love this heartwarming story of a girl living in a shelter and the homeless dog she's determined to reunite with his family.Piper's life is turned upside down when...
Fans of Pax and A Dog's Way Home will love this heartwarming story of a girl living in a shelter and the homeless dog she's determined to reunite with his family.Piper's life is turned upside down when...
Available Formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • Fans of Pax and A Dog's Way Home will love this heartwarming story of a girl living in a shelter and the homeless dog she's determined to reunite with his family.

    Piper's life is turned upside down when her family moves into a shelter in a whole new city. She misses her house, her friends, and her privacy—and she hates being labeled the homeless girl at her new school. But while Hope House offers her new challenges, it also brings new friendships, like the girls in Firefly Girls Troop 423 and a sweet street dog named Baby. So when Baby's person goes missing, Piper knows she has to help. But helping means finding the courage to trust herself and her new friends, no matter what anyone says about them—before Baby gets taken away for good.

    Told in alternating perspectives, this classic and heartfelt animal tale proclaims the importance of hope, the power of story, and the true meaning of home.

About the Author-

  • Bobbie Pyron has worked in libraries and bookstores in North Carolina, Tennessee, and Utah and has been active in local animal rescue work for many years. She's the author of A Pup Called Trouble, A Dog's Way Home, and Stay. Bobbie lives in Ashville, NC, with her husband, Todd, and their dog, Sherlock. www.bobbiepyron.com

Reviews-

  • Kirkus

    Starred review from May 1, 2019
    A small dog, the elderly woman who owns him, and a homeless girl come together to create a tale of serendipity. Piper, almost 12, her parents, and her younger brother are at the bottom of a long slide toward homelessness. Finally in a family shelter, Piper finds that her newfound safety gives her the opportunity to reach out to someone who needs help even more. Jewel, mentally ill, lives in the park with her dog, Baby. Unwilling to leave her pet, and forbidden to enter the shelter with him, she struggles with the winter weather. Ree, also homeless and with a large dog, helps when she can, but after Jewel gets sick and is hospitalized, Baby's taken to the animal shelter, and Ree can't manage the complex issues alone. It's Piper, using her best investigative skills, who figures out Jewel's backstory. Still, she needs all the help of the shelter Firefly Girls troop that she joins to achieve her accomplishment: to raise enough money to provide Jewel and Baby with a secure, hopeful future and, maybe, with their kindness, to inspire a happier story for Ree. Told in the authentic alternating voices of loving child and loyal dog, this tale could easily slump into a syrupy melodrama, but Pyron lets her well-drawn characters earn their believable happy ending, step by challenging step, by reaching out and working together. Piper, her family, and Jewel present white; Pyron uses hair and naming convention, respectively, to cue Ree as black and Piper's friend Gabriela as Latinx. Entrancing and uplifting. (Fiction. 9-12)

    COPYRIGHT(2019) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • School Library Journal

    August 1, 2019

    Gr 4-7-Interwoven chapters alternate between an 11-year-old girl whose family arrives at a shelter in Salt Lake City, and a young dog who belongs to another homeless person. The human protagonist, Piper, narrates her close-knit family's situation and their interactions with helpful people and programs in an engaging, warm, and upbeat voice. While she briefly touches upon her own sadness and embarrassment about being homeless, Piper focuses on her advocacy for Baby, the dog. Because of mental illness and her refusal to give up her dog, Baby's human, Jewell, can't take advantage of many of the services offered to Piper's family. Baby's chapters are written in a semi-lyrical style from a third-person omniscient point of view, evoking innocent and energetic doggy-ish dedication, love, and longing. Although sad and unjust situations abound, Pyron keeps a light touch and focuses on the positive. She keeps a secular perspective while acknowledging the roles of various Christian programs, and fulfills Piper's need for belonging with a Girl Scout-like group. Jewell, Piper, and Piper's family are all white; people of color are depicted among secondary characters. VERDICT This title is an excellent book for raising awareness and empathy.-Rhona Campbell, Georgetown Day School, Washington, DC

    Copyright 2019 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Kirkus Reviews (starred review) ★"A small dog, the elderly woman who owns him, and a homeless girl come together to create a tale of serendipity. Entrancing and uplifting."
  • School Library Journal "Evoking innocent and energetic doggy-ish dedication, love, and longing...this title is an excellent book for raising awareness and empathy."
  • Katherine Applegate, Newbery Medal–winning author "Timely, important, and truly beautiful."
  • ALA Booklist (starred review) PRAISE FOR A Pup Called Trouble: ★ "An enthralling adventure with emotional heft and read-aloud potential. Fans of Kate DiCamillo, Phyllis Naylor, and E. B. White will treasure Pyron's book."
  • Kirkus Reviews "A fast-paced, immersive exploration of urban wildlife from a satisfying animal point of view."
  • School Library Journal "Based on real-life instances of coyotes inhabiting Central Park, Pyron's tale deftly navigates the animal adventure genre with a lively voice. Readers will be captivated."
  • bestselling author Suzanne Selfors "A sweet tale about something we all yearn for, whether we're four-footed or two-footed: friendship and a place to call home."
  • Publishers Weekly (starred review) PRAISE FOR A Dog's Way Home: "In the tradition of The Incredible Journey and Lassie Come-Home comes a heartwarming, suspenseful tale. An inspiring portrayal of devotion and survival against all odds."

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    Katherine Tegen Books
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 99 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
Stay
Stay
Bobbie Pyron
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
Stay
Stay
Bobbie Pyron
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by SW BOCES School Library System, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close