Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
Brightwood
Cover of Brightwood
Brightwood
Borrow Borrow Borrow
"Brilliantly conceived . . . entertaining and heartfelt." —Kirkus Reviews Daisy Fitzjohn knows there are two worlds: the outside world and the world of Brightwood Hall, her home—and the...
"Brilliantly conceived . . . entertaining and heartfelt." —Kirkus Reviews Daisy Fitzjohn knows there are two worlds: the outside world and the world of Brightwood Hall, her home—and the...
Available Formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • "Brilliantly conceived . . . entertaining and heartfelt." —Kirkus Reviews

    Daisy Fitzjohn knows there are two worlds: the outside world and the world of Brightwood Hall, her home—and the only place she's ever been. Daisy and her mother have everything they need within its magnificent, crumbling walls. But, when Daisy's mother leaves unexpectedly one morning, a strange visitor arrives on the estate, claiming to be a distant cousin, James Gritting. As the days tick by and Daisy's mother doesn't return, Gritting becomes more and more menacing. He wants Brightwood for himself, and he will do anything to get it—unless Daisy, with only her imaginary companions to help her, can stop him.

    Tania Unsworth takes readers on a twisting, heart-pounding journey through dark corridors and wild, untamed gardens in this novel perfect for fans of Doll Bones and Coraline.

About the Author-

  • The daughter of the late novelist Barry Unsworth, TANIA UNSWORTH spent her childhood in Cambridge, UK, before moving to America in her early twenties. She currently lives in Boston, Massachusetts, with her husband and two sons. She's the author of The One Safe Place. Her website is www.taniaunsworth.com.

Reviews-

  • Kirkus

    July 1, 2016
    An intriguing mix of fantasy, mystery, and mental illness. Home alone at Brightwood Hall, 11-year-old Daisy worries about her missing mother with each passing day. Her unease grows when a stranger arrives--a man who seems to want Brightwood all to himself. Despite her naivete, readers will connect with Daisy and her dilemma. Bound to her home by agoraphobia and a sense of duty to protect Brightwood, Daisy seeks helps from the black-and-white specter of a girl named Frank. Brilliantly conceived by Unsworth, Frank is both a figment of Daisy's imagination and the embodiment of Daisy's cognitive development and character growth. Frank knows what Daisy knows and nothing more, but she forces Daisy to confront the truth about her situation. Brightwood seems like a magical place filled with wonder, animate objects, and talking animals, but as Daisy battles her fears and fights back against the man who wants Brightwood, she slowly comes to terms with the possibility that Brightwood is a place built on unresolved grief and mental illness. The book's compassionate handling of sensitive subject matter is a trade-off for its tidy, uncomplicated ending, which doesn't allow readers to see the healing process between two of the book's major characters. Daisy is never described beyond her black hair, adding further ambiguity to the text. Subtle and thought-provoking, the novel is entertaining and heartfelt as well as a gentle introduction to the world of mental illness. (Fiction. 9-12)

    COPYRIGHT(2016) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • School Library Journal

    August 1, 2016

    Gr 4-6-Daisy Fitzjohn has never seen the world beyond the walls of Brightwood Hall in her entire 11-year-old life. Alone with her wealthy mother in their decaying mansion, she keeps company with imaginary friends and a pet rat, completely unaware of the uniqueness of her situation. Her circumstances quickly change on the day her mother leaves for the store and never returns. Daisy is then visited by a strange man claiming to be a relative, who may have something to do with her mother's disappearance and may want Brightwood Hall for himself. The novel opens with the gripping tale of the death of Daisy's mother's family, which explains her mother's fear of letting Daisy leave the mansion's compound. There are creative introductions to Daisy's imaginary friends, who include a bossy little boy from a painting, a topiary horse, and a fierce explorer. After such a strong start, however, the plot is slow to evolve. Patient readers will still appreciate the sinister setting and resilient female protagonist; this could be a nice read-alike for fans of Jonathan Auxier's The Night Gardener or Neil Gaiman's Coraline. VERDICT A solid purchase for middle grade students who enjoy creepy stories with elements of magical realism.-Pilar Okeson, Washington, DC Public Library

    Copyright 2016 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    Algonquin Books
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 99 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
Brightwood
Brightwood
Tania Unsworth
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
Brightwood
Brightwood
Tania Unsworth
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close