Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
Anya and the Dragon
Cover of Anya and the Dragon
Anya and the Dragon
Anya and the Dragon Series, Book 1
Borrow Borrow
This lush tale of magic and dragons is a gem for any adventure-seeking middle grader and perfect for fans of Aru Shah and the End of Time.Anya and the Dragon is the story of fantasy and mayhem in tenth...
This lush tale of magic and dragons is a gem for any adventure-seeking middle grader and perfect for fans of Aru Shah and the End of Time.Anya and the Dragon is the story of fantasy and mayhem in tenth...
Available Formats-
  • OverDrive Listen
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • This lush tale of magic and dragons is a gem for any adventure-seeking middle grader and perfect for fans of Aru Shah and the End of Time.

    Anya and the Dragon is the story of fantasy and mayhem in tenth century Eastern Europe, where headstrong eleven-year-old Anya is a daughter of the only Jewish family in her village. When her family's livelihood is threatened by a bigoted magistrate, Anya is lured in by a friendly family of fools, who promise her money in exchange for helping them capture the last dragon in Kievan Rus. This seems easy enough, until she finds out that the scary old dragon isn't as old—or as scary—as everyone thought. Now Anya is faced with a choice: save the dragon, or save her family.

Reviews-

  • Publisher's Weekly

    July 15, 2019
    In this charming historical fantasy set in an alternate 10th-century Kievan Rus’, an 11-year-old Jewish girl seeks to save her family home from repossession by finding a fabled river dragon and collecting the czar’s reward. Told to keep to herself, Anya will do whatever it takes to raise the necessary funds—even teaming up with Ivan Ivanovich and his family, a clan permitted to weave fool magic despite a general magical ban—who have recently come to the tiny, magic-infused village of Zmeyreka. But they aren’t the only ones on the hunt: a cruel Viking warrior named Sigurd will stop at nothing to claim the prize first. To Anya and Ivan’s surprise, the dragon turns out to be benevolent and in need of protection from its new friends. With this clever, fast-paced debut, Pasternack draws upon the myth and folklore of Kievan Rus’ to deliver a delightful tale filled with supernatural creatures, including house and water spirits. Everyday details—baking bread, stirring potions, preparing for Shabbat—are as well drawn as folkloric elements, coalescing in a tale that never loses its sense of fun or wonder. Ages 10–12. Agent: Rena Rossner, the Deborah Harris Agency.

  • AudioFile Magazine Recognized as a 2020 Honor Book by the American Library Association, this culturally infused audiobook is a great listen for both middle-grade listeners and their parents. Set in Eastern Europe during the tenth century, it focuses on Anya, a brave yet humble girl who takes on the task of capturing the last dragon to save her family's livelihood. Narrator Laura Knight Keating seamlessly delivers this timeless tale in calm tones, highlighting Anya as a kind, relatable character. Author Sofiya Pasternack incorporates a lot of fun and excitement but also isn't afraid to tackle some deeper issues, such as the oppression Anya's Jewish family faces in their small village. These great dynamics make this the perfect audiobook choice for the whole family. N.H. ďż˝ AudioFile 2020, Portland, Maine

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    Recorded Books, Inc.
  • OverDrive Listen
    Release date:
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
    Burn to CD: 
    Permitted
    Transfer to device: 
    Permitted
    Transfer to Apple® device: 
    Permitted
    Public performance: 
    Not permitted
    File-sharing: 
    Not permitted
    Peer-to-peer usage: 
    Not permitted
    All copies of this title, including those transferred to portable devices and other media, must be deleted/destroyed at the end of the lending period.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 99 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
Anya and the Dragon
Anya and the Dragon
Anya and the Dragon Series, Book 1
Sofiya Pasternack
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
Anya and the Dragon
Anya and the Dragon
Anya and the Dragon Series, Book 1
Sofiya Pasternack
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by SW BOCES School Library System, and built with đź’• by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close