Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
Training Day
Cover of Training Day
Training Day
Borrow Borrow
Readers will fall in love with Raúl the Third's unique visual style as Kooky Dooky helps luchador El Toro train for his next wrestling match! Perfect for readers of Elephant and Piggie, comic...
Readers will fall in love with Raúl the Third's unique visual style as Kooky Dooky helps luchador El Toro train for his next wrestling match! Perfect for readers of Elephant and Piggie, comic...
Available Formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • Readers will fall in love with Raúl the Third's unique visual style as Kooky Dooky helps luchador El Toro train for his next wrestling match! Perfect for readers of Elephant and Piggie, comic book fans, and kids looking to practice both Spanish and English.

About the Author-

  • Raúl the Third is the Pura Belpré Honor-winning illustrator of Vamos! Let's Go to the Market. He is currently working on the expanded world of his Vamos! series. He grew up in El Paso, Texas and Ciudad Juárez, México, and now lives in Boston, Massachusetts with colorist and collaborator Elaine Bay and their son, Raúl the Fourth.

Reviews-

  • Kirkus

    March 1, 2021
    El Toro needs to train for his big lucha libre match, but all he wants to do is sleep! Poor Kooky Dooky--´┐ŻQu´┐Ż va hacer? What's he going to do? This quirky, early-reader spinoff of the ´┐ŻVamos! series follows exasperated trainer Kooky Dooky as he pulls all the stops to get and keep El Toro out of bed. How about a big breakfast? Nope. After a gigantic belch, the sluggish luchador nose-dives under the covers. The rooster lures his trainee out of the bed with smelly shoes and a promise to go easy. Finally the training program gets results: Obstreperous chickens are caught by hand--er, hoof; the unplugged mechanical bull is dominated; the "Spiked Pi´┐Żatas of DOOM" are pulverized; junk cars are crushed; and abuelas are helped across the street. Todo es listo--all is ready. Today El Toro will obliterate The Wall (pun very much intended--one of The Wall's fans sports a distinctive blond 'do and orange skin). The unstoppable Ra´┐Żl the Third brings his border barrio to rip-roaring life with plenty of humor, embedded Spanish, and Chicano cultural references. Colorist Bay's creative enhancement of Ra´┐Żl's detail-rich frames continues their energetic collaboration. Action explodes throughout, though readers may be disappointed by the abrupt ending. In the simultaneously publishing Tag Team, El Toro and La Oink Oink team up to clean the arena following their thrashing of Donny Dollars and the Bald ´┐Żguila. Comic-book and lucha libre fans alike will not tap out of this semibilingual smackdown. (Early reader. 4-8)

    COPYRIGHT(2021) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • Booklist

    March 15, 2021
    Grades K-2 *Starred Review* This bilingual reader kicks off--along with the simultaneously released Tag Team--the El Toro and Friends series, expanding the bustling, Mexican border-town world created in the award-winning ´┐ŻVamos! picture books. Here, El Toro, a burly luchador, must train for his match against undefeated champion the Wall, but El Toro is reluctant to leave his bed. Enter his trainer, a bug-eyed chicken aptly named Kooky Dooky, who lays out a training regimen in an energizing series of double-spread thought bubbles. After the luchador finally rises, a Rocky-style neighborhood jog brings the inspiration he needs to complete Kooky Dooky's training and take down the Wall. In typical ´┐ŻVamos! style, a vibrant world bursts to life on every page, filled with movement and a detailed host of cartoon characters, though text and images are simplified to accommodate beginning readers. Ra´┐Żl offers a lesson in visual literacy, utilizing speech bubbles and panels in addition to traditional narration. Select English phrases are echoed in the text--ones that bear repeating, thus maintaining a natural flow--but this title overcomes any linguistic barriers through its irresistible art.

    COPYRIGHT(2021) Booklist, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    HMH Books
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 99 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
Training Day
Training Day
Ra├║l the Third
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
Training Day
Training Day
Ra├║l the Third
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select ÔÇťSend to NOOK,ÔÇŁ you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by SW BOCES School Library System, and built with ­čĺĽ by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close