Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
The Revolution of Birdie Randolph
Cover of The Revolution of Birdie Randolph
The Revolution of Birdie Randolph
Borrow Borrow
From Stonewall Book Award winner Brandy Colbert comes a novel about first love and secrets, perfect for fans of Nina LaCour and Nicola Yoon.Dove "Birdie" Randolph works hard to be the perfect daughter...
From Stonewall Book Award winner Brandy Colbert comes a novel about first love and secrets, perfect for fans of Nina LaCour and Nicola Yoon.Dove "Birdie" Randolph works hard to be the perfect daughter...
Available Formats-
  • OverDrive Listen
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • From Stonewall Book Award winner Brandy Colbert comes a novel about first love and secrets, perfect for fans of Nina LaCour and Nicola Yoon.

    Dove "Birdie" Randolph works hard to be the perfect daughter and follow the path her parents have laid out for her. She quit playing her beloved soccer, she keeps her nose buried in textbooks, and she's on track to finish high school at the top of her class. But then Birdie falls hard for Booker, a sweet boy with a troubled past, whom she knows her parents will never approve of.

    When her estranged aunt Carlene returns to Chicago and moves into the family's apartment above their hair salon, Birdie notices the tension building at home. Carlene is sweet, friendly, and open-minded- and she has also spent decades in and out of treatment facilities for addiction. As Birdie becomes closer to both Booker and Carlene, she yearns to spread her wings. But when long-buried secrets rise to the surface, everything she's known to be true is turned upside down.

 

Awards-

About the Author-

  • Brandy Colbert is the critically acclaimed author of several novels, whose Pointe won the 2014 Cybils Award for young adult fiction and was named a best book of 2014 by Publishers Weekly, BookRiot, and more. Her Little & Lion was a Junior Library Guild and a Book of the Month Club selection. She was chosen as a Publishers Weekly Flying Start author for spring 2014. She was born and raised in Springfield, Missouri, and earned a bachelors degree in journalism from Missouri State University. She works as a copy editor for magazines and books.

Reviews-

  • Publisher's Weekly

    Starred review from June 3, 2019
    Stonewall Award–winner Colbert (Little & Lion) does not disappoint with this coming-of-age story of a young black woman from Chicago. Dove “Birdie” Randolph, 16, is a model teen, until her mother’s sister, who has been in and out of rehab, arrives for a stay. Struggling with a need for autonomy and frustrated with her controlling mother, Birdie samples her first alcoholic beverage and hides the existence of her new boyfriend, sweet ex-juvie inmate Booker, for whom she’s fallen fast. Birdie forges a close relationship with her aunt while concealing her behavior from her mom, but when Birdie’s decisions catch up to her, revealing a hidden truth about her parents, Birdie’s world and newfound agency crumble. Despite occasionally predictable plotting, Colbert creates a unique cast of well-developed characters navigating responsibility, grief, racial profiling, and addiction. Providing a great deal of entertainment as Birdie’s inexperience lands her in awkward situations, this thrilling tale of first love explores what it means to be held to an impossible standard and still learn to live an authentic life. Ages 12–up. Agent: Tina Wexler, ICM Partners.

  • AudioFile Magazine Narrator Andrea Lang gives voice to Chicago teen Dove "Birdie" Randolph. While striving for perfection to please her parents, she also bristles at their rigid expectations. Secretly dating a boy her parents would not approve of and becoming close with her estranged aunt, Birdie builds new relationships. When revelations of family secrets shock the teen, she questions her view of everything she knew about herself. Lang's pleasant voice sounds appropriate for Birdie; however, uneven pacing, when coupled with a flat tone and frequently indistinguishable characters, fails to capture the listener's attention. Though Lang provides a straightforward performance, her mostly monotone narration makes it easy to miss changes in scenes. A.L.S.M. � AudioFile 2019, Portland, Maine

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    Hachette Book Group
  • OverDrive Listen
    Release date:
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
    Burn to CD: 
    Permitted
    Transfer to device: 
    Permitted
    Transfer to Apple® device: 
    Permitted
    Public performance: 
    Not permitted
    File-sharing: 
    Not permitted
    Peer-to-peer usage: 
    Not permitted
    All copies of this title, including those transferred to portable devices and other media, must be deleted/destroyed at the end of the lending period.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 99 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
The Revolution of Birdie Randolph
The Revolution of Birdie Randolph
Brandy Colbert
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
The Revolution of Birdie Randolph
The Revolution of Birdie Randolph
Brandy Colbert
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by SW BOCES School Library System, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close