Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
Anya and the Dragon
Cover of Anya and the Dragon
Anya and the Dragon
Borrow Borrow Borrow
A 2020 Sydney Taylor Award Honor Book This lush tale of magic and dragons is a gem for any adventure-seeking middle grader and perfect for fans of Aru Shah and the End of Time.Anya and the Dragon is...
A 2020 Sydney Taylor Award Honor Book This lush tale of magic and dragons is a gem for any adventure-seeking middle grader and perfect for fans of Aru Shah and the End of Time.Anya and the Dragon is...
Available Formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    2
  • Library copies:
    2

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • A 2020 Sydney Taylor Award Honor Book
    This lush tale of magic and dragons is a gem for any adventure-seeking middle grader and perfect for fans of Aru Shah and the End of Time.

    Anya and the Dragon is the story of fantasy and mayhem in tenth century Eastern Europe, where headstrong eleven-year-old Anya is a daughter of the only Jewish family in her village. When her family's livelihood is threatened by a bigoted magistrate, Anya is lured in by a friendly family of fools, who promise her money in exchange for helping them capture the last dragon in Kievan Rus. This seems easy enough, until she finds out that the scary old dragon isn't as old—or as scary—as everyone thought. Now Anya is faced with a choice: save the dragon, or save her family.

About the Author-

  • Sofiya Pasternack is a nurse whose fondest childhood memories involve her pet goats wrecking the house. When she's not at the hospital, she can be found enjoying Utah's wild places, teaching her kids to make challah, and writing whatever new story has taken up residence in her brain. She lives in Draper, Utah.
    www.sofiyapasternack.com
    Twitter: @sofipasternack
    Pinterest: @sofipasternack
    Instagram: @sofipasternack
    Facebook: /sofiya.pasternack.1
    Tumblr: sofipasternack.tumblr.com

Reviews-

  • Kirkus

    June 15, 2019
    A Jewish girl meets dragons in a fantastical version of Kievan Rus', where magic has been illegal for 10 years. Anya's the only Jewish child in Zmeyreka. In the mostly Christian 10th-century village, Anya's family stands out: Her father's father remains pagan, while her mother's people are refugee Khazars and Mountain Jews. But unbeknownst to Anya, her village is not like the rest of Kievan Rus'. Magical creatures are nearly extinct everywhere else but common in Zmeyreka. The tsar's sent a "fool family"--users of fool magic, authorized to use magic despite the ban--to capture the last dragon in the land. The youngest fool is Anya's age (he's named Ivan, just like his seven older brothers), and the two become fast friends. But can Anya really bring herself to help Ivan kill a dragon that hasn't harmed anyone? Zmeyreka's magical creatures are both helpful and frightening; there are dragons, leshiye, vodyaniye, and even a Jewish domovoi with a little kippah. Ivan, unlike his pale father and brothers, is dark-skinned like his mother, a princess from "far to the east." Though historical accuracy isn't perfect (Anya anticipates her bat mitzvah, for instance, and reads Hebrew), it is a fantasy, and anachronisms don't detract from the adventures of truly likable characters in this original setting. This delightful series opener is an exciting blend of Russian and Jewish traditions. (Fantasy. 10-12)

    COPYRIGHT(2019) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • Publisher's Weekly

    July 15, 2019
    In this charming historical fantasy set in an alternate 10th-century Kievan Rus’, an 11-year-old Jewish girl seeks to save her family home from repossession by finding a fabled river dragon and collecting the czar’s reward. Told to keep to herself, Anya will do whatever it takes to raise the necessary funds—even teaming up with Ivan Ivanovich and his family, a clan permitted to weave fool magic despite a general magical ban—who have recently come to the tiny, magic-infused village of Zmeyreka. But they aren’t the only ones on the hunt: a cruel Viking warrior named Sigurd will stop at nothing to claim the prize first. To Anya and Ivan’s surprise, the dragon turns out to be benevolent and in need of protection from its new friends. With this clever, fast-paced debut, Pasternack draws upon the myth and folklore of Kievan Rus’ to deliver a delightful tale filled with supernatural creatures, including house and water spirits. Everyday details—baking bread, stirring potions, preparing for Shabbat—are as well drawn as folkloric elements, coalescing in a tale that never loses its sense of fun or wonder. Ages 10–12. Agent: Rena Rossner, the Deborah Harris Agency.

  • School Library Journal

    September 27, 2019

    Gr 4-7-Would you help kill what might be the last dragon in the world if it saved your family from being evicted? In a 10th-century Eastern Europe where magical creatures abound but human magic is all but illegal, 13-year-old Anya has just found out that she and her family are about to lose their home, and with her father recently conscripted into the Tsar's army, there doesn't seem to be any way out. The discrimination that Anya and her family experience for being Jewish makes things even worse. When a boy named Ivan, the youngest in a rambunctious gang of brothers (all named Ivan), introduces Anya to his father, she realizes she may have a way to earn money-by helping him find an elusive dragon. And then she meets the dragon himself, who turns out to be a sweet and friendly creature-basically the draconic version of Ivan, and connected in some mysterious way to the village blacksmith, Kin. Anya and Ivan struggle to save the dragon from three enemies, the worst of which is the cold-hearted and ambitious Viking Sigurd, with help from a variety of unlikely and unusual sources. Anya is smart and feisty, with more talent and courage than she realizes. She must keep secrets and decide for herself if it is ever right to kill. There is a fair amount of violence and depictions of anti-Semitism, but the story also has humor, a quick pace, and a keen sense of place. VERDICT A strong heroine and an unusual setting make this worth adding to most crowded fantasy shelves.-Mara Alpert, Los Angeles Public Library

    Copyright 2019 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Booklist

    August 1, 2019
    Grades 4-7 Magic is in the very fabric of Anya's small Eastern European village, and though the tsar has banned its use, the citizens quietly implement it in their daily lives. As Anya's bat mitzvah approaches, she grows increasingly impatient for her own magic to manifest. Meanwhile, outside forces are upsetting her family's peaceful farm life. Her father has been conscripted into the tsar's army to fight a faraway war, and prejudice against Jewish people is leaking into the community. When a bigoted official threatens to take their farm unless they can produce an outlandish sum of money, Anya secretly takes a job with a newcomer?the tsar's fool, who has come to Kievan Rus to capture its last dragon. She partners with the fool's hapless son, Ivan, who educates her on dragons, but they are unprepared when the sought-after creature turns out to be friendly rather than vicious. Pasternack's debut is an irresistible blend of moral quandaries, magic, humor, danger, and bravery. Imaginative details bestow a fairy-tale-like quality to the story, which will effortlessly ensnare historical fantasy fans.(Reprinted with permission of Booklist, copyright 2019, American Library Association.)

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    HMH Books
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 99 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
Anya and the Dragon
Anya and the Dragon
Sofiya Pasternack
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
Anya and the Dragon
Anya and the Dragon
Sofiya Pasternack
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by SW BOCES School Library System, and built with đź’• by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close