Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
¡Vamos! Let's Go Eat
Cover of ¡Vamos! Let's Go Eat
¡Vamos! Let's Go Eat
Winner of the 2021 Pura Belpré Illustrator Medal Little Lobo returns to share his love of food and wrestling in this delicious follow-up to Vamos! Let'sGo to the Market from Pura Belpré...
Winner of the 2021 Pura Belpré Illustrator Medal Little Lobo returns to share his love of food and wrestling in this delicious follow-up to Vamos! Let'sGo to the Market from Pura Belpré...
Available Formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    0
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • Winner of the 2021 Pura Belpré Illustrator Medal
    Little Lobo returns to share his love of food and wrestling in this delicious follow-up to Vamos! Let'sGo to the Market from Pura Belpré Medal-winning illustrator Raúl the Third.

    In this new Vamos! title, Let's Go Eat, Little Lobo is excited to take in a show with wrestling star El Toro in his bustling border town. After getting lunch orders from The Bull and his friends to help prepare for the event, Little Lobo takes readers on a tour of food trucks that sell his favorite foods, like quesadillas with red peppers and Mexican-Korean tacos. Peppered with easy-to-remember Latin-American Spanish vocabulary, this glorious celebration of food is sure to leave every reader hungry for lunch!
    Jam-packed with fun details and things to see, the Vamos! books are perfect for fans of Richard Scarry and Where's Waldo?

 

Awards-

About the Author-

  • Raúl the Third is a Pura Belpré Award-winning illustrator and the author/illustrator of Vamos! Let's Go to the Market. He is also the illustrator for the Lowriders in Space series by Cathy Camper and is currently working on a YA graphic novel with David Bowles. He grew up between El Paso, TX and Ciudad Juárez, México and now lives in Boston, MA with colorist Elaine Bay. Visit him at www.artbyraul.com, on Twitter: @raulthe3rd and on Instagram: @raulthethird.info

Reviews-

  • Publisher's Weekly

    Starred review from January 13, 2020
    Now that he has a bicycle with a sidecar in addition to his wagon, Little Lobo, the young wolf who starred in Raúl the Third’s first bilingual ¡Vamos! story, is really in business: “Now we can make our deliveries faster,” he tells his dog, Bernabé. When famous luchador El Toro asks Little Lobo to deliver food for all the luchadores before a big match, the list proves long—“¡Tortas de milanesa!” “¡Churros!” “¡Elotes!” The square around el Coliseo is frantically busy with food trucks, some—like Taco Tuesday Everyday—in the shape of the foods they proffer, and Little Lobo knows them all. As in the first volume, Spanish words define background objects throughout, and the artwork’s dynamic vibe sends energy through spreads of the marketplace and its community. Suppliers and cooks cooperate (“Quique’s Quesadillas and Bronco’s Burritos buy their tortillas from Abuela”), and every cook knows their customers’ preferences: one “always gives Bernabé a sample of her masa.” The vital images, the dazzling colors and light (shout-out to colorist Elaine Bay), and the devotion to Mexican food and eating make this story utterly distinctive—and delicious. Final art not seen by PW. Ages 4–7.

  • Kirkus

    January 15, 2020
    Little Lobo is tasked with nourishing nine famished luchadores. Following ¡Vamos! Let's Go to the Market (2019), author/illustrator Raúl the Third and colorist Bay create a second installment in their bilingual series, ¡Vamos!, here following Little Lobo's journey as he provides sustenance to hungry lucha libre stars. The cheerfully energetic anthropomorphic wolf reprises his role as a bike courier when he receives a message from El Toro and makes his way to el Coliseo, winding and weaving through busy streets. A mouthwatering experience follows as Little Lobo--accompanied by dog Bernabé and rooster pal Kooky Dooky--picks up tacos, diced fruit, freshly made tortillas, flan, and buñuelos from a gathering of food trucks. As in his other work, Raúl the Third imbues his pages with real-world and pop-culture references. An homage to Picasso's Guernica, recognizable Ciudad Juárez-El Paso landmarks, a Chavo del Ocho inside a barrel, and even a Chapulín Colorado marionette all make the cut. Readers ignorant of these specifics will not feel left out: The busy pages filled with interesting characters and intriguing bilingual signage make readers wish they could jump into the pages and experience the bustling town. Bay's comic book-style coloring and creative textures provide a deep cultural exposure to the lavish array of Mexican food throughout the spreads. After enjoying the story, readers will keep going back to savor all the minuscule details. A delectable bilingual experience. (Picture book. 4-7)

    COPYRIGHT(2020) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • School Library Journal

    Starred review from February 1, 2020

    Gr 2-5-Delivery wolf extraordinaire Little Lobo must feed his hungriest clients yet. First seen in ¡Vamos! Let's Go to the Market, Little Lobo and his dog, Bernabé, return with a new bike for speedy deliveries. The new wheels help the duo hit up a variety of food trucks to satisfy the diverse desires of a troupe of hungry luchadores with aliases like La Oink Oink and the ingeniously named Armor Dillo. Much like Market, the narrative is secondary to the richly detailed world Little Lobo explores. Anthropomorphic roosters, cats, bunnies, snakes, and even a pig with a tattoo that says jamon all have a friendly smile and words of encouragement for Little Lobo. A cucaracha with a yellow shirt, white cowboy hat, and bolo tie accompanies Little Lobo throughout the story: this book's version of Richard Scarry's Goldbug. Throughout this delicious odyssey, readers are treated to a smorgasbord of Mexican food terms, and the intricate illustrations are peppered with Spanish labels for the items pictured, from lapiz (pencil) to molcajete (mortar and pestle for making salsa). Be prepared to be lost in this book para siempre. VERDICT Combining two iconic elements of Mexican culture, food trucks and lucha libre, this tale will make readers of all ages hungry for tacos, burritos, and elote (Mexican street corn)-and for more stories set in the inviting, busy town created by Raúl the Third.-Chance Lee Joyner, Wilton Public and Gregg Free Library, NH

    Copyright 2020 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Booklist

    February 1, 2020
    Grades K-2 Little Lobo is back for another fun-filled Spanish-learning adventure. This time he's making a delivery to his friend El Toro at the Coliseo, but all of the luchadores have ordered very different things. Lobo heads to the food trucks parked outside ahead of the big show, and there readers can feast their eyes on all sorts of foods, from quesadillas to tamales and the stretchiest of stretchy cheeses. Each page is rich with words in Spanish, presented in a reader-friendly format with translations if needed. The spreads are dense with background detail, and readers can spend ages poring over them to discover something new in the scenery. The story is simplistic, so as to not draw away from what's going on in each spread, and bilingual readers will have a laugh at things like a pair of pig luchadores being called Los Chicharrones or the food palomita being sold by a, well, palomita. This is a great way to learn about many different sorts of Mexican foods, not to mention picking up some Spanish along the way.(Reprinted with permission of Booklist, copyright 2020, American Library Association.)

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    HMH Books
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 99 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
¡Vamos! Let's Go Eat
¡Vamos! Let's Go Eat
Raúl the Third
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
¡Vamos! Let's Go Eat
¡Vamos! Let's Go Eat
Raúl the Third
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by SW BOCES School Library System, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close