Hide Cookie Control notification

This site uses cookies. Learn more about cookies.

Close cookie details

OverDrive would like to use cookies to store information on your computer to improve your experience at our website. One of the cookies we use is critical for certain aspects of the site to operate and has already been stored. You may remove and block all cookies from this site, but this could affect certain features or services of the site. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to remove them, please see our Privacy Policy.

If you do not wish to continue using this site, please click here.

  Main Nav
Lily and Dunkin
Cover of Lily and Dunkin
Lily and Dunkin
Borrow Borrow Borrow
"Gephart has written a story that will speak not just to one specific community, but to humanity as a whole." —VOYAFor readers who enjoyed Wonder and Counting by 7's, award-winning author Donna...
"Gephart has written a story that will speak not just to one specific community, but to humanity as a whole." —VOYAFor readers who enjoyed Wonder and Counting by 7's, award-winning author Donna...
Available Formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • "Gephart has written a story that will speak not just to one specific community, but to humanity as a whole." —VOYA
    For readers who enjoyed Wonder and Counting by 7's, award-winning author Donna Gephart crafts a compelling dual narrative about two remarkable young people: Lily, a transgender girl, and Dunkin, a boy dealing with bipolar disorder. Their powerful story will shred your heart, then stitch it back together with kindness, humor, bravery, and love.

    Lily Jo McGrother, born Timothy McGrother, is a girl. But being a girl is not so easy when you look like a boy. Especially when you're in the eighth grade.

    Dunkin Dorfman, birth name Norbert Dorfman, is dealing with bipolar disorder and has just moved from the New Jersey town he's called home for the past thirteen years. This would be hard enough, but the fact that he is also hiding from a painful secret makes it even worse.

    One summer morning, Lily Jo McGrother meets Dunkin Dorfman, and their lives forever change.
    * 2017 Southern Book Award Finalist
    * Voice Award from the Palm Beach County Action Alliance for Mental Health
    * NPR's Best Kids' Books of 2016
    * Chicago Public Library Best Fiction for Older Readers 2016

    * New York Public Library Best Books for Kids 2016
    * Amazon's Top 20 Children's Books of 2016
    * Top 10 Audiobooks of 2016, School Library Journal
    * YALSA 2017 Best Fiction for Young Adults
    * YALSA 2017 Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers
    * ALA 2017 Rainbow Book List — GLBTQ Books for Children & Teens
    * Georgia Book Award, 2017-2018 Nominee
    * Rhode Island Middle School Book Award Nominee, 2018
    * Wisconsin State Reading Association's Just One More Page Selection, 2017

    * Indie Next Pick Summer 2016
    * Junior Library Guild Selection
    * Goodreads Choice Awards 2016 — Best Middle Grade & Children's
    * 2016 Nerdy Book Club Award
    * 2016 Rainbow Awards — Best Transgender Book
    * 2016 Spring Okra Pick — the Best in Southern Literature
    "Gephart clearly has a lot of heart, and she tells their stories with compassion."—Kirkus

    "A thoughtfully and sensitively written work of character-driven fiction that dramatically addresses two important subjects that deserve more widespread attention."—Booklist, starred

    "Gephart sympathetically contrasts the physical awkwardness, uncertainty, and longings of these two outsiders during a few tightly-plotted months, building to a crescendo of revelation...[A] valuable portrait of two teenagers whose journeys are just beginning."—PW

    "This would be a fantastic addition to any middle grade library collection, and is highly recommended for all ages."—VOYA

    "Lily and Dunkin is a delight. Here's a book for anyone who's ever struggled with being different—or anyone who's ever loved someone who bears the burden of difference. . . . Crucial, heart-breaking, and inspiring." —Jennifer Finney Boylan, author of She's Not There and Stuck in the Middle with You

About the Author-

  • Donna Gephart's award-winning novels are packed with humor and heart. They include Death by Toilet Paper; Olivia Bean, Trivia Queen; How to Survive Middle-School; and As if Being 12-3/4 Isn't Bad Enough, My Mother Is Running for President! Donna is a popular speaker at schools, conferences, and book festivals. For reading guides, resources, writing tips, and more, visit donnagephart.com.

Reviews-

  • Publisher's Weekly

    March 7, 2016
    With humor and great sensitivity, Gephart (Death by Toilet Paper) juxtaposes the efforts of two eighth-graders—one struggling with gender dysphoria, one with mental illness—to establish new identities for themselves. Determined, gentle, and self-aware Tim was “born with boy parts” but identifies as a girl, preferring the name Lily; already “out” to her family and best friend Dare, Lily is both excited and terrified about reactions to a more public transformation. Meanwhile, mercurial newcomer Norbert hates his name—but loves the nickname Lily gives him, Dunkin, which alludes to his favorite haunt—and keeps deep secrets, even from himself. Their friendship develops slowly as Dunkin, desperate for acceptance, gets swept up by an intolerant basketball-playing crowd. Gephart sympathetically contrasts the physical awkwardness, uncertainty, and longings of these two outsiders during a few tightly-plotted months, building to a crescendo of revelation. Strong, supportive women accept these teens as they are, while their fathers struggle mightily. Despite an overly tidy resolution to Dunkin’s story and Lily being a bit too perfect, it’s a valuable portrait of two teenagers whose journeys are just beginning. Ages 10–up. Agent: Tina Wexler, ICM.

  • Kirkus

    February 15, 2016
    Lily is trans and is facing puberty, which will make her look less than herself than she does now, while new kid Dunkin's manic impulsiveness makes him a misfit; though they click immediately, life gets complicated. According to her author's note, Gephart promised her son a story with a character who is bipolar like him and promised herself a story of a trans girl, to help foster understanding of people like them. Gephart clearly has a lot of heart, and she tells their stories with compassion. They speak in alternating first-person narration with cursive headers for Lily and block capitals for Dunkin. Dunkin's insensitivity during manic episodes doesn't erase the fact that he's a good kid, and that comes through. But trans readers will likely not recognize themselves in Lily, even if they share some common ground. Lily is perfectly polite, unfailingly kind, with nary a bad thought, angelic right up to her fairy-tale ending. Though Gephart does a good job of rounding out her other characters, Lily is so pristine that she feels mythical, falling into the pile of fiction's magical misfits so perfect it's impossible not to accept this one little departure from the norm. There are too few messy, complicated trans heroes that still find love and acceptance in literature for kids, and while cis readers may find it educational, this isn't going to change that. Gephart's compassion is noble, but it's not enough to make Lily's story resonate. (resources) (Fiction. 10-14)

    COPYRIGHT(2016) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • Booklist starred review "Though in less skillful hands this might have turned into a problem novel, it is, instead, a thoughtfully and sensitively written work of character-driven fiction that dramatically addresses two important subjects that deserve more widespread attention."

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    Random House Children's Books
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 99 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
Lily and Dunkin
Lily and Dunkin
Donna Gephart
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
Lily and Dunkin
Lily and Dunkin
Donna Gephart
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close